Final Blog

1  Every one takes away something different..

TELL ME ABOUT BANE, WHY DOES HE WEAR THE MASK?
LOT OF LOYALTY FOR A HIRED GUN!

I really like bane-posting, i think everybody should

Oh and i got better at vomiting lots of text into essays so wew.
Like how..bane’s followers vomits bullets into people?

2  How are you connected?

IT is a life style, a career – not just a job.  Staying informed about an area you are passionate about is important and certainly helps broaden you out for job interviews.

How are you staying informed outside of class?

I’m not interested in face book or twitter feed although they are valuable ways of keeping up to date.

Evaluate 2 sources of information that you will plug into to keep your self informed about your IT area of interest.

Answer:
When it comes to the vast majority of the podcasts and videos i do watch don’t tend to related directly to IT, there are two channels that overlap could be used as examples for this blog

LinusTechTips

https://www.youtube.com/user/LinusTechTips

and

LazyGameReviews

https://www.youtube.com/user/phreakindee/about

Lets start with Linus

  1. Why are you interested in this and how does it relate to your IT career?

    LTT started out as a simple channel where Linus just talked about PC parts hes currently interested in and unboxing, and whilst the channel still does these things their budget, staff and influence means they can get much better content out there.
    I’m interested in current tech levels and cool stuff that’s coming out/out and reviews the bleeding edge.

  2. Who is responsible for the content being pushed out here?

    Linus and his colleagues create videos and post them on their channel.

  3. What qualify s them to be an authoritative informer of this information?

    Seven years of reliable content means they have got good at what they do.
    Here’s their history page.
    http://www.linusmediagroup.com/history/

  4. How do you know the content is reputable?

    Here’s a group of videos where they build an Oiled cooled PC, all the way through they talk about how the cooling works, what goes into it and the difficulties faced in such a build.

  5. Give examples of quality content and cutting edge information this source is providing?

  6. What are the different ways in which you can keep up to date with this material?
    1. Do they have more than one avenue to connect to them?

      https://www.facebook.com/LinusTech

      https://plus.google.com/101553871233598823817/posts

    2. Is there an app? are they a podcast, sound cloud, email updates, rss…
      They do a weekly tech show

So if linus represents the bleeding edge, LGR is the oldschool, whilst a much smaller channel with a more simple design philosophy, its still quality content

  1. Why are you interested in this and how does it relate to your IT career?

    I wont deny, I’m a massive nerd. and LGR whilst being older than me talks about a lot of games i grew up playing. and he also discusses older tech that is often strange, niche or completely unknown to the average person

  2. Who is responsible for the content being pushed out here?

    Clint Basinger owns and runs the channel

  3. What qualify s them to be an authoritative informer of this information?

    From his paetron
    “I love making my videos on YouTube, which is why I’ve done at least one per week since June of 2009. Video games, and especially classic computer games, are my big fat passion. I love the stories behind their creation, the waves of nostalgia they bring on, the headspace they invoke, the hardware they run on, and the community of people that has formed around them. And since starting LGR, my appreciation and enjoyment of this has only increased, and I’ve found a fantastic audience on YouTube that digs this stuff, too.”

    and a interview with him
    “What inspired me to start making videos, I’m not entirely sure. I’ve made videos for my own and my friends’ entertainment ever since I was a kid, with an S-VHS camcorder or a webcam or whatever I could get my hands on. This continued on through 2006, when I joined YouTube and started uploading random videos I’d made.

    Around the time I started getting into people like the Angry Video Game Nerd and Classic Game Room, and thought “hey, I could do this”. So I did, starting with a review of the Sega CD console. Around that time, the AVGN reviewed the same system, my video ended up getting a lot of hits as a result of it being related, and I started reviewing things more frequently as a result!”

  4. How do you know the content is reputable?

    Heres a video where he reviews and shows off an old mouse designed for pool games
    During the video he discusses its origins, the history of the company who made it and what it was used for
    He also plays doom 2016 with it lol

  5. Give examples of quality content and cutting edge information this source is providing?

  6. What are the different ways in which you can keep up to date with this material?
    http://www.facebook.com/LazyGameReviews

    He doesnt do podcasts or anything of that ilk.

 

Leave a Reply

