Top 3 ICT Classes and Thoughts on them

ICT is a interesting class, I don’t fully understand why its not done in one of the two lecture halls but whatever.

I’d have to say in descending order.

  1. What is Real
  2. Copyright
  3. Treaty of Waitangi

Why were they your favorite?
I’m a big fan of the concepts presented in What is Real, as one of my friends developed a disorder called Derealisation after a rough interaction with a powerful psychedelic and the ego death was too much for him. and he spent about 6m in a constant state of “is everything i see real or is it just my imagination?”
Cause when it comes down to it, all we know is our ego exists and everything else is just electrical signals from sent by our senses and organs, there’s a great track by one of my favorite artists about a alien race who does this

Hallucinating senses individually, insidiously
Or in any combination, rhythmically
Shifting gears, focus upon intensity
Wait, big people a talk nobody try fuck with i-man clarity
Mind starts slipping to familiar tracks
Bending warping, interfering with the facts
Sensory language leaves us with no habit for lying
We are hostile aliens, immune from dying

Copyright is a Topic i’m interested in, i’m not going to hide the fact i torrent pleantly of media, a fair amount of it is a combo of Entitliement/lack of funds. and i generally feel like indivudial users isnt the primary issue that copyright should be intrested in, It’s people stealing content and re-uploading it. Youtube tends to be good with it but like the video i posted on the blog

The treaty is something we learnt about heavily in school and honestly i reached the point where i went “god i am so sick of learning about this” that i just filtered it out
But it was nice to reapproach the subject from the POV of the british at that timepoint and the other geopolitcal events of the time.

What was significant about them that stuck in your mind?
I think a quote from a short story i love will suffice

AM has altered me for his own peace of mind, I suppose. He doesn’t want me to run at full speed into a computer bank and smash my skull. Or hold my breath till I faint. Or cut my throat on a rusted sheet of metal. There are reflective surfaces down here. I will describe myself as I see myself:

I am a great soft jelly thing. Smoothly rounded, with no mouth, with pulsing white holes filled by fog where my eyes used to be. Rubbery appendages that were once my arms; bulks rounding down into legless humps of soft slippery matter. I leave a moist trail when I move. Blotches of diseased, evil gray come and go on my surface, as though light is being beamed from within.

Outwardly: dumbly, I shamble about, a thing that could never have been known as human, a thing whose shape is so alien a travesty that humanity becomes more obscene for the vague resemblance.

Inwardly: alone. Here. Living under the land, under the sea, in the belly of AM, whom we created because our time was badly spent and we must have known unconsciously that he could do it better. At least the four of them are safe at last.

AM will be all the madder for that. It makes me a little happier. And yet … AM has won, simply … he has taken his revenge …

I have no mouth. And I must scream.
-by Harlan Ellison

Whilst copyright is a good idea, its deeply flawed and needs an overhaul

The Treaty is an interesting example of the British going “We just cant deal with these savages right now. just write up a treaty to silence them. can we get back to the opium wars please.”

Was it the content, the delivery,  did you learn something new?

Honestly, a lot of the topics covered in the three i talked about were nothing overtly new to me, but the chance to study them some more and get deeper understanding was nice. and really any chance i get to talk about Ego/Transhumanism and whatnot is good for me.

What made them the most important and or favorite blogs?

Taking subjects I’m already interested in and expanding on them.

What are your personal strategies on staying informed about our aria of expertise (outside of classroom learning) and what else do you think you could be doing to continue developing your awareness regarding our field?

A rolling stone gathers no moss, In any industry and especially in the IT industry to go “Well, i know this why would i need anymore?” isn’t good enough. If you don’t keep up you will be left behind. I’m fully expecting to see stuff like, but not limited to:

  • Neural Interfaces
  • Quantum Computing
  • Emergence of a True AI [The Singularity]
  • Transhumanism

These things will happen if i like it or not, and one must keep up with the times or be left behind.

 

Leave a Reply

